2 min read

Lewis Hamilton secures win at 2021 Brazilian GP

Lewis Hamilton secures win at 2021 Brazilian GP

Lewis Hamilton won the Sao Paulo Grand Prix after a ferocious battle with rival Max Verstappen.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton secured first place podium at this years 2021 Sao Paulo GP. After starting at P10 on the grid, it was clear by the end that Hamilton was hungry for vengeance.

The World Champion, thanks partly to a new power unit, fought a ferocious battle to P1 against rival and current World Champion favourite Max Verstappen. Verstappen secured P2, being 10.5 seconds behind Hamilton. Meanwhile, Valterri Bottas, fellow Mercedes driver, landed P3, 13.5 seconds behind Hamilton.

Hamilton had a tough fight right from the start of the race weekend. After the Friday qualifying result was disqualified for the following Saturday Sprint race after a breach in regulations regarding his rear wing’s DRS. Hamilton was forced to start Saturday’s Sprint from the back of the grid.

Despite this, the Mercedes driver still managed to fight his way up to P5. Nevertheless, taking on a new power unit meant he was given a 5-place grid penalty, meaning he started Sunday’s race at P10.

At lights out, both Mercedes drivers were off to a good start, but Verstappen kept hold of a lead starting at the second turn. By the end of the first lap, both Red Bull drivers were first and second.

Meanwhile, Hamilton battled up the grid, with teammate Bottas clearing the way for him. Eventually, Hamilton passed Perez on the 19th lap and finally had his eyes on Verstappen. Perez would come back for revenge though, by securing the fastest lap of the entire race, securing the bonus points for Red Bull instead of Mercedes.

For much of the race, Max was able to hold back Hamilton. However, after failing to overtake Verstappen during Lap 58, Lewis was finally able to gain P1 using DRS on the following lap.

After this weekend, Verstappen is still first in the 2021 Drivers’ Championship with an impressive 332.5 points. Meanwhile, Hamilton is second with 318.5 points and Bottas third with 203 points.

However, in the 2021 Constructors’ championship, Mercedes leads with 521.5 points. Red Bull are second with 510.5 points and third is Ferrari with 287.5 points.

The next race we have to look forward to is a new Qatar Grand Prix, which is filling in for the much-loved Australian GP. As of 2023, Qatar will become a regular stop on the Formula One calendar.

Below are the results of the Brazilian GP:

1) Lewis HamiltonMercedes-Benz AMG1:32:22.851
2) Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing+10.496s
3) Valtteri BottasMercedes-Benz AMG+13.576s
4) Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing+39.940s
5) Charles LeclercFerrari+49.517s
6) Carlos SainzFerrari+51.820s
7) Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri+1 lap
8) Esteban OconAlpine+1 lap
9) Fernando AlonsoAlpine+1 lap
10) Lando NorrisMcLaren+1 lap
11) Sebastian VettelAston Martin+1 lap
12) Kimi RaikkonenAlfa Romeo+1 lap
13) George RusselWilliams+1 lap
14) Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo+1 lap
15) Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri+1 lap
16) Nicholas LatifiWilliams+1 lap
17) Nikita MazepinHaas+2 laps
18) Mick SchumacherHaas+2 laps
19) Daniel RicciardoMcLarenDNF
20) Lance StrollAston MartinDNF

Downforce around the Web: